Little League Pitching

Little League Pitching
I live in Saint Louis, Missouri. My local radio station is AM 590 KFNS. I was listening to a call in talk show this past weekend, and the subject of inside pitching came up. The comment was made about kids not being taught to throw the inside pitch when they are young. I would like to comment on this myself. Now keep in mind that I have an 11 year old son that plays ball, catcher and has made a couple of pitching appearences, where I am also the coach of the team.

I have, from the start, taught him and the pitchers to try and pitch inside to batters as much as possible. I do not think there is anything wrong with this approach. I think that if a kid is going to pitch throughout his childhood, he (or she…yes, I have no problem having girls on my kid’s team. If they want to play, then they have a spot on my team, just like a boy does (that is a another blog subject down the road)).

I believe that if a child is going to want to have fun in ANY sport, then they need to be taught not only the fundamentels, but also how to succeed in each age group. With each lesson, it needs to be implemented everytime, everygame.

Now if a batter getshit, so be it. I myself was hit MANY times by a pitcher growing. And yes , sometimes I even had tears rolling down my face going to first. But I lived. I “rubbed dirt on it”, and kept playing.

It IS alright to teach kid pitchers to pitch inside!!!!

Leave a Reply

