9-year-old boy told he’s too good to pitch

AP Photo/Douglas Healey
If you haven’t heard about this, go here to read about it. I’ll give you a quick run down.

Nine-year-old Jericho Scott is a kid that throws a baseball around 40 MPH when he pitches, which is equivelant to probably 90+ MPH in the major leagues. He has been told that he is not allowed to pitch anymore. Now it has been reported in the printed news and on TV that Jericho has not beaned anyone, that he has outstanding control.

The other day, even after the Gestapo…oops!…I mean, the league told the head coach that Jericho could not pitch, his coach sent him to the mound to start a game. The other team forfeited without ever sending a kid up to bat.

Now the league is trying to disband the team, and spread them out through the rest of the teams in the same age group.

My take? (I knew you would ask) WHAT TOTAL BULLVINE SCATOLOGY!!!!

Look, I grew up playing little league my WHOLE CHILDHOOD, so I have “street cred” on this subject.

Listen up, people…Every year, and I mean every year that you played or your child has played, or will play…there is the strong chance that there will be a “ringer” in the league. I faced them, you faced them, and your children will face them. The ones I faced didn’t all had great control. Did I get hit? yeah, a couple of times…I remember taking a fastball to my knee from a 12 year old, that knocked me to the ground. I saw stars, but the coach rubbed the side of my knee, threw some dirt on it, winked, and said don’t worry about stealing a base, because you are slow to begin with…I wiped my tears away, laughed at what he said, got a “go get’em” slap on the behind and went to first base. No biggie.

Was it fair that I got hit by this man child? YES IT WAS!!! I’ll say it again…YES IT WAS!!! Mr. Manchild was the same as me, a kid, who even though was bigger than me, was the same age. He deserved to be in the same league.

I lived, so did you, so will your kids.

By the way…this kid sounds like the next Danny Amonte, but of proper age…I bet in a couple of seasons, those same parents that pulled their kids and forfeited the game would be cheering their hypocritical asses off he Jericho leads his local all-star team to the Little League World Series.

http://www.blogcatalog.com/directory/sports/baseball

8 thoughts on “9-year-old boy told he’s too good to pitch

  1. yep we are raising a bunch of frigging babies, oh mommy he called me a name you need to call the principal and tell on him, come on we need to man up and let kids be kids, they need to learn through trial and error, they need to learn from their mistakes and they sure as hell need to quit letting mommy and daddy fix every little problem they have , damn this pisses me off

  2. This is one of the most ridiculous things I have read for a long time. It is so beneficial for kids to learn how to lose gracefully–and to also learn that they should tip their cap to a person’s who is more talented than they might be. Personally, I think we take the self-esteem issue too far. Of course, we want kids to feel good about themsleves but not at the expense of creating a perfect situation where they can never lose!

    Nicely done article, btw!

    Melinda

  3. I thought we as adult were supposed to encourage kids to try to be the best they can be. Maybe this kid was bad in math and baseball kept him off the streets. This kid needs to get back in the game to continue to build his confidence.

  4. He will not pitch for kat’s Tigers, Melinda’s Bosox, daOld Man’s bombers…I wrote the article, so I got dibs on him…He will be a Redbird.

  5. What a shame to see a great pitcher wasted cause parents can’t handle it.

    Let him pitch I say. I used to be a great pitcher (not as good as him though) and I never booted off.

    Course that was then and this is now

  6. Great post Tommy. I totally agree with you. People need to realize that kids develop with different abilities at different ages; just because he’s an amazing pitcher doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t be allowed to play.

    I hope for his sake, he isn’t peaking at this tender age!!!

Leave a Reply

