You Ain’t Much, If You Ain’t Dutch

The Netherlands celebrates on the field after it upset the Dominican Republic on Tuesday, winning, 2-1, and moving to the next round. (Andres Leighton/AP)

Last night, for those who were lucky enough to see the Netherland/Dominican Republic game, saw one of the greatest upsets in modern sports history. A true “David vs. Goliath”. I was on the edge of my seat from the sixth inning on. Even my wife and our three year old watched the last few innings with me (ok, so my wife is a fan of a good game of international competition, but having a three watch is something!).

Who would have thought that the Dutch, who have been said to be the equivalent of a Double-A team, would hold the powerhouse Dominican Republic to no runs through ten innings, and allow a run in the eleventh off an error? And then come back in the bottom half off the inning and score two, even though the runs came heavily from two errors. Last night solidified the old saying “That’s why you play the game.”

The Dominican Republic came into the tournament as a heavy, HEAVY favorite. Yours truly had picked them to go all the way. But the Netherlands decided that they wanted a different outcome, and then came out it made it happen. Not too bad with a roster that included less than a handful of players ever to make it to the bigs, and a combined salary of $400,000 last year.

After the game, Harold Reynolds of MLB Network stated that “This has to go down as one of the greatest upsets in sports history.” I started thinking abuot that, and about other upsets that I had lived through in my lifetime. Does the two victories against the DR match up to the “Miracle On Ice”, Villanova over Georgetown? Buffalo Bills playoff comeback over Houston Oilers? NC State over Phi Slamma Jamma? Yes it does, because I remember the feeling of excitement of those upsets back then as I did last night.

Congrats to the Netherlands!!!

2 thoughts on “You Ain’t Much, If You Ain’t Dutch

  1. Definitely, Tommy–I love upsets like this! Of course, my favorite 🙂 was the 2004 ALCS, Boston against the MFY’s!

    And the Sox won! (uh oh–but we know what happened after that too!).

    Melinda

  2. Yes, Melinda…we all know what happened. The Bosox swept my Cardinals four straight.
    I remember…I WAS THERE!!!!!!!

    Pardon me while I grab a tissue.

Leave a Reply

