Baseball Drills – Pitching and Batting

Looking for some fresh ideas for baseball drills? You’ve come to the right place! Try out these two ideas

One baseball drill that I have found that adds value is “Target Practice”. I am sure that this drill exists somewhere. Anyway here we

go.

I set up a Juggs net (with strike zone) and a pitching rubber at 48′. I then have the player warm up and throw 15 pitches from the

stretch and 15 from the wind-up.

I then measure the accuracy rate of the player from each position so that I can understand what to develop or drawbacks that may need

to be addressed for each player during a game (i.e. if the pitcher cannot throw a strike from the wind up then they they should only

pitch from the stretch etc.).

I repeat this every couple of weeks to see if our work on pitching fundamentals is effective.

3 Home plate Drill
When we take batting practice off a machine, I like to place three home plates for the players to stand at. We take 5 cuts at the

normal distance then, move up and take 5 cuts, and then move up 5 cuts. This makes cage work more challenging and eliminates the

player getting the machine timed. I also like it because it varies what the pitch looks like without changing the machine.

Leave a Reply

