Baseball Tonight: Tim Dillard imitates Tim Kurkjian

Day 23: Cardinals @ Mets; Marlins @ Cardinals (ss)

Good to see Oscar Taveras get some playing time. However, I am so glad that they did not rush the kid. Let him get his mind straight, and his confidence up.

By Gosh, It's Langosch

Jenifer Langosch/MLB.com

wpid-0307140801.jpgTop prospect Oscar Taveras is finally set to make his Grapefruit League debut and will do so in the split-squad game the Cardinals are playing on the road this afternoon. The Cardinals delayed Taveras’ start into spring games until they saw the outfielder run and slide without hesitating as he pushed off his surgically-repaired right ankle.

With Taveras already having missed a week of spring games, his chances of making the Opening Day roster likely took a hit. He seemed a longshot to head north with St. Louis anyway, but the Cardinals always said that a sensational spring showing by Taveras could change their mind. Now, there are only three weeks worth of games left for Taveras to make his impression.

Carlos Martinez will start that game in Port St. Lucie.wpid-0307140801a.jpg

Back in Jupiter, the Cardinals will play a second game, this one against the Marlins. Adam Wainwright

View original post 95 more words

RIP Frank Jobe

Today baseball lost a great Doctor. Tommy John lost a GREAT friend. Frank Jobe passed away today.
I remember him my 1st spring in Vero Beach. Dressed in tennis whites playing tennis with all the wives. BTW, he was a much, much better surgeon.
When he told me what was going to happen to my left elbow, I trusted him as a friend first, doctor second. I knew he had my best interests at heart. If he had told me to bury my glove at 2nd base I would have done it. Because of our bond and trust I won 164 games after the groundbreaking surgery. The most amazing stat was that I never missed a start in the 13 years post surgery.
I got to spend 90 minutes with him at the Humana Golf Tournament in January. We laughed and told stories to numerous tour golfers.
Frank Jobe was a great surgeon but an even better human being. I told him that if I ever made it to Cooperstown I wanted him with me. He will be with me in spirit now.
RIP My friend!!

– Tommy John, via FacebookImage